PCC campaign update – Clive Grunshaw appoints Ibrahim Master as his deputy


Clive Grunshaw, Labour’s Lancashire Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) candidate, has confirmed Ibrahim Master as a key member of his campaign team.

If elected Clive has announced he intends to appoint Ibrahim as Lancashire’s deputy PCC.

Clive Grunshaw, Labour’s Lancashire Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) candidate, said:

“Ibrahim has a wealth of experience on the Lancashire Police Authority and I am delighted that he has agreed to become a key member of my team during the campaign and if I’m elected.

“He has a great understanding of policing and the challenges that we face.  He also has excellent links with Lancashire’s businesses and the wider community.

“Ibrahim is renowned for his commitment to community politics.  If I’m elected I know his experience would be invaluable in ensuring that people in Lancashire get the service and protection from the police that they deserve.

“This Tory-led Government is cutting 550 police officers in Lancashire, leading to a thinner blue line across the county.  I’m calling on the Government to think again to save the vital police officer jobs that protect our community.”

Ibrahim Master said:

“It is an honour to be running alongside Clive as his deputy and I look forward to working with him. I welcome the opportunity to use my experience to help secure the safety of people in Lancashire.

“Having spent over 13 years working as a member of the Lancashire Police Authority I am confident that I have what it takes to help Clive retain Lancashire Constabulary’s status as one of the best-ranked forces in the country.

“People in Lancashire will have a choice on November 15. Clive has pledged to work hard to cut crime, not the police. I’m determined to do all I can to help him deliver this pledge.”

The election for Lancashire’s first PCC takes place on November 15. The deadline to register to vote in the PCC elections is midnight on October 31

Ibrahim Master has been on the Lancashire Police Authority (LPA) for nearly 13 years. He was chair of the LPA’s human resources committee and has developed a strong understanding of policing, diversity and equality issues.
– Ibrahim is a former non-executive director of the Blackburn with Darwen PCT, where he chaired the audit committee and provider services.
– He has been actively involved in a diverse range of community organisations and in 2004 he was appointed as a Deputy Lieutenant by the Lord-Lieutenant of Lancashire.

